New Chairman of Horsham District Council elected for the new civic year

Published: 25 May 2023

Cllr Kate Rowbottom hands over to Cllr David Skipp as Chairman

Following an Annual General Meeting of Horsham District Council on 24 May, a new Chairman has been elected.

Cllr Dr David Skipp was elected Chairman of Horsham District Council for the civic year 2023 to 2024 at the Annual General Meeting which was held at Parkside, Horsham.

Cllr Nigel Emery was appointed as the Vice-Chairman of the Council.

Cllr Skipp takes over the role of Chairman from Cllr Kate Rowbottom who is retiring from the Council.

Commenting on his election, Cllr Skipp said:

I am both honoured and delighted to be voted the Chairman of Horsham District Council and to have the opportunity to represent the Council across the whole District.

I hope to meet with local people, community and voluntary groups and businesses to find out about the work they are doing and how it is benefitting our District.

This year will also be an opportunity to meet other civic leaders throughout the county to learn about innovations in their areas.

Vice-Chairman Cllr Emery commented:

It is an honour to hold this office and a pleasure to support such a distinguished and experienced Chair of Council.